RhyPiBoMo Daily Winners and…….The Golden Quill Poetry Contest Winners!!!

RhyPiBoMo Daily Winners and

The Golden Quill Poetry Contest Winners!!!

*

Last Week’s Daily Prize Winners

Sunday – Melanie Ellsworth

Choice of Rhyming PB from Sneak Peek donated by Margot Finke

*

Monday – Cindy Johnson

Writing Picture Books by Ann Whitford Paul donated byAngie Karcher

*

Tuesday – Deborah Holt Williams

The Making of a Poem:A Norton Anthology of Poetic Forms by Mark Strand and Eavan Boland – donated by Angie Karcher

*

Wednesday – Aimee Haburjak

Take Me to Your BBQ by Kathy Duval and Adam McCauley donated by Angie Karcher

*

Thursday – Mary Warth

Storytellin CD donated by Mary Jo Huff

*

Friday – Lynn Alpert

Storytellin CD donated by Mary Jo Huff

*

Saturday – Sydney O’Neill

Critique donated by Debbie Diesen (due to busy schedule – available this summer)

*

Congrats to all the winners!

Please email me at Angie.karcher@yahoo.com ASAP with your address!

___________________________________________________________________________________

*

RhyPiBoMo Golden Quill

Poetry Contest Prize Winners

I want to first say how amazed I am by all of you who entered this contest! Some of you have never even attempted poetry and yet, you dove in feet first and swam with the sharks who may have been writing poetry for years. I thank you! I am so proud of each and every one of you and am VERY proud of your brilliant poems!

I do want to add that we didn’t have any ties. The 1-3 place winners were very close but very clear. I did read and judge all the poems  and my numbers were waiting in case there was a tie breaker…but there was not . If there had been, my vote would have decided the winner.

I have also awarded 10 Honorable Mention poems. There are no prizes but these poems and authors deserve to be recognized for their awesome work!

 

So, without further ado,

Congratulations to…

*

First Place – Feast or Flu? by Dawn Young
Wins a Scholarship for From Storyteller to Exquisite Writer: The Pleasures and Craft of Poetic Techniques!
Donated by Mira Reisberg and Sudipta Bardhan Quallan

*

Second Place – THE KALEIDOSCOPASAURUS by Randi Sonenshine
Wins a Scholarship for The Lyrical Language Lab: Punching up Prose with Poetry
Donated by Renee La Tulippe

*

Third Place – My Summer Vacation by Rebecca Colby
Wins a Scholarship for a spot in Picture Book Magic Course
Donated by Susanna Leonard Hill

 

*My greatest appreciation and congratulations go to you for a job well done!

You are the top 3 out of over 40 poems!

Well Done! I will be in touch!

*

*

Honorable Mentions: (in no particular order)

*
The Queen Bee and the Hungry Bear by Stephanie Salkin

*
Double Drip Cone by Kathleen Doherty

*
Runaway Rodeo by Linda Hoffman Kimball

*
A Duel at Bedtime: Parents versus Kids by Katie Gast

*
Lunch On the Bus by Ashley Potts

*
Dog Versus Morning Dove by Melanie Ellsworth

*
A Sticky Situation by Jill Proctor

*
Morning News by Buffy Silverman

*
Recipe For Humor by Janie Reinart

*
Please Don’t Make Me Eat Those Peas by Lynn Alpert

*

*

Well Done Everyone! I am proud to call you RhyPiBoMoers!

*

Thank you to our esteemed judges who worked their hineys off

to get these back to me by Saturday!

You guys are the absolute best!

Renee La Tulippe
Jill Esbaum
Tiffany Strelitz Haber

*

And now for our Brilliant, Singing Poems…

*

*

First Place Poem

Feast or Flu?
By Dawn Young

*

It’s springtime; fields of flowers fully blossomed stand in bloom.

Their sprightly sight awakes the weary winter-withered room.

As poppies placed inside a vase, set stage for nature’s scene,

the window waves a welcome, whereby scents seep through the screen.

Lavender and peony, lilies and red roses,

a fragrant feast to say the least, pure pleasure to our noses.

I breathe them in, those splendid scents, a nose just loves to savor

like a tongue when tempted by a tantalizing flavor.

A breeze blows by, a bigger whiff, my sniffer starts to twitch.

The trickle flows, drip goes the hose, my eyes, like bug bites, itch.

The tickle creeps deep down my throat and sweeps from ear to ear.

Through sweat and tears, my make-up smears, a molten mutineer.

The nasal-nested nagging scent now nettles me. Achoo!

I’m snorting snot, no doubt I’ve got that fragrant flower flu.

Another breeze, another whiff, the symptoms get much worse.

I pitch the poppies, scorn the screen, and curb the urge to curse!

I peer; the paneful portrait paints me pink and puffy-eyed,

but worst of all is knowing that I’ve yet to step outside!

*

*

*

Second Place Poem

THE KALEIDOSCOPASAURUS
by Randi Sonenshine

*

*
In the Tuscadoran Forest lives a singing Brontosaurus
Who performs for Turkish tourists each December twenty-third.

All November he rehearses scores of notes, refrains, and verses –
With his music, he converses, seeking perfect pitch and word.

But one year a frightful blizzard brought a cold deep in the gizzard
Of each frog and bear and lizard, every owl and every bird.

Soon his throat began to prickle, sting and tingle, itch and tickle
Making all his notes turn fickle – could it be that he misheard?

He must surely have bronchitis or infectious laryngitis,
So he summoned Madame Titus who remarkably inferred:

“Your poor tonsils are distended, but I’ll quickly have them mended
And your singing will be splendid by December twenty-third.”

Then she fluttered into motion without fanfare or commotion
Whipping up a potent potion, which she measured, mixed and stirred.

Though it tasted like zucchini with a side of squid linguini,
Soon he belted out Puccini, perfect pitch with every word!

Then he noticed his reflection – a kaleidoscope complexion!
“Just a tiny imperfection. Not to worry,” said the bird.

Though distressed by this mutation, his new look was a sensation!
Now they come from EVERY nation on December twenty-third!

*

*

*

Third Place Poem

My Summer Vacation
by Rebecca Colby

*

*
Last summer on vacation, I went to Borneo
to ride some pygmy elephants and water buffalo.

I trekked across the jungle under snake-infested trees,
got bitten by tarantulas and stung by killer bees.

I chased a hairy rhino while fat leeches sucked my blood;
a white-crowned hornbill nipped my hand, and chased me in the mud.

I spied a clouded leopard, then I tracked his trail for miles,
but lost him at the river bank by basking crocodiles.

For food, I ate rambutans, giant ferns and sprouted beans,
until I smelled some durians and creamy mangosteens.

I sank into some quicksand thinking I was surely dead;
a Dayak tribesman rescued me, then tried to shrink my head.

At night I slept in tree top huts with thick mosquito nets,
yet still I got malaria and shook with chills and sweats.

I brought home an orangutan but gave him to a zoo–
I’ll have to find another pet next August in Peru.

It’s true! It is! It happened on that wonderful vacation,
I took inside the deepest realms of my imagination!

*

*

 *

Honorable Mention

The Queen Bee and the Hungry Bear
by Stephanie Salkin

*

*

(A Parallel Poem based on “The Walrus and the Carpenter” from THROUGH THE LOOKING GLASS, by Lewis Carroll)

*

The time has come, the Queen Bee said,
to talk of many stings:
of hives, bears, honey combs,
of soldier bees on wings
and how a bear could maul our home—
such horrid, awful things!

Did you hear that? The Queen then cried.
We have to end our chat!
A hungry bear paws at our door—
he’s meaning to grow fat.

Go quickly, said the worried Queen.
Please save our habitat!

Her soldiers buzzed, they flew outside,
the bear commenced to chew,
completely mindless of the bees
that swarmed out into view.
My hide is thick, the brown bear said.
Your stings cannot stab through!

I weep for you, he told those bees,
I really feel so pained.
With sobs and grunts he tore their hive,
his face all honey-stained.
And drank, he did, those sweet, sweet combs
till they were fully drained.

 *

 *

*
Honorable Mention

DOUBLE DRIP CONE
by Kathleen Doherty

*

*
My tongue is working extra fast.
This ice cream cone will never last.

Lickety, lick.
The drips come quick!

A soggy mess, a sticky hand . . .
Another drop—PLOP!—hits the sand.

Lickety, lick.
The drips come quick!

’Round and ’round the rim I bite.
A cone this mushy isn’t right.

Just one last bit for me to munch!
I’m done. I’m stuffed. So, when is lunch?

 *

 *

*
Honorable Mention

Runaway Rodeo
by Linda Hoffman Kimball

*

*

(illustrator’s note: the boy Peter is missing his top front teeth)

It’s rodeo time. The crowd’s comin’ in.
Peter’s excited. It shows in his grin.

He loves every bit – every bridle & rein,
each rope & each saddle, each tail & each mane,
each wrangler & rider, each pearl-buttoned shirt,
each whinny & moo & the smell of the dirt.

But here’s the main reason Pete came out to cheer:
his favorite bronc’ buster Sly Cottonwood’s here!

It’s Sly’s turn to try stayin’ on long enough.
“You’ll do it!” Pete yells. “Hold on & hang tough!”

The seconds are tickin’! What’s Cowboy Sly’s fate?
He stays on for 6 & then 7 & 8!

“Yahoo!” Peter adds to the chorus of cheerin’,
but the bronc’ with his rider keeps buckin’ and rearin’!

Sly hollers a prayer on the back of the horse,
But prayin’s not changin’ that crazy brute’s course.

(illustrators note: images here of the horse and rider careening around the arena)

Then comes such a “THWEEET!”
so piercin’ & shrill
that everything stops!

The horse fin’ly stands still!

Sly looks up at Peter whose lips are still puckered.
“Thanks for your whistlin’! I was sure gettin’ tuckered!”

Pete shouts, “That bronco jutht needed more noith!
Thly, you’re the betht of the betht of cowboyth!”

 *

 *

 *

Honorable Mention

A Duel at Bedtime: Parents versus Kids
by Katie Gast

*

*
‘Click’ the TV off. Signal, that’s a wrap.

Put away the toys. They deserve a nap.

Laughing, screaming shrieks. “We are wide awake!”

Race around the house. Wiggle, hop and shake.

Pop the hamper lid. Stinky clothes are chucked.

Set the furnace low. Cool it, heating duct.

Splash into the tub. Leave no counter dry.

Minty fresh brushed teeth. Grab the towel and fly.

Push the armchair in. Legs and back do ache.

Flip the light switch off. Circuits need a break.

Hide behind the door. Climb up on the chair.

Jump out when they pass. Roar and wave and scare!

Read to wound up kids. Sing to keep them shushed.

Put the house to bed, gently, it is bushed.

Wriggle, squirm and kick! Bed sheets on the floor!

Giggle, hiccup, burp. “Water! We need more!”

Tuck tots back in bed. Kiss soft cheeks night-night.

Dream they fall asleep. Pray some night they might.

Creep around the house, want a playful chum.

Rooms are dim and grey, silent…boring… glum.

Still walls, dark halls, waylay wakeful heads.

Pick all snoozers up. Lay them in their beds.

*

*

*
Honorable Mention

LUNCH ON THE BUS
by Ashley Potts

*

*
Lunch on the bus. Lunch on the bus.
I left,
I left,
my lunch on the bus.
It’s not in my backpack. Not spilled on the floor.
The last place I saw it was Bus 24.
I shouldn’t have taken it out when I did,
to show off my lunchbox to Raymond and Sid.
Left on the bus. Left on the bus?!?
The driver must EAT lunches
left on the bus!
Who can resist ham salad on rye?
Pickles and cheese sticks and leftover pie?
I’m sure that he’s crunching my cookies right now,
and slurping my Super Slug juice box.
Oh, wow.
Lunch on the bus. Lunch on the bus.
I left,
I left,
my lunch on the bus.
I can’t buy my lunch. I don’t have a dime.
That sneaky bus driver, he knew it was mine.
I’m going to STARVE. I’m going to croak!
I’m going to pass out. This isn’t a joke.
My poor stomach feels like it just took a punch.
Hey, Driver, I’m dying ‘cause YOU ate —
MY LUNCH?!?
Who doubled back?
Who brought it to school?
Oh.
My bus driver’s actually pretty darn cool.

*

*

*

Honorable Mention

Sonnet: DOG VERSUS MOURNING DOVE
by Melanie Ellsworth

*

*

To catch a dove that’s feasting at the feeder,
requires a nose that’s keen, and careful legs.
The dog for this should be the sure pack leader.
(He must ignore that sizzling ham and eggs.)

A tough dog keeps his focus on his prey.
Now, I’m a mangy mutt and old to boot – yet,
I want this dove. I HOWL, and GROWL, and BAY!
The dove keeps snacking – doesn’t even sweat.

Across my field I spot a Pointer coming.
There’s hope at last! A bird dog cannot miss.
He leaps. I lunge. Our hearts are pounding, drumming.
We mark this moment with a well-earned piss.

For two together do what one may not.
There’s no one mourning for the dove we caught.

*

*

*
Honorable Mention

A STICKY SITUATION
by Jill Proctor

*

*

A hairy fly
with sticky toes
alighted on
my nobby nose.

I brushed it off
with one big “whack!”
But soon the fly
came buzzing back.

Swoosh! I swiped
both left and right.
The hairy fly
would not take flight.

I poked the fly.
I gave a nudge.
The hairy fly
refused to budge.
I wondered next,
what shall I do?
The fly is stuck!
The fly won’t shoo!

If hairy fly
declines to split,
I’ll swat and squish
and swallow it!

At last, the pesky
fly took wing.
And from its sticky
feet I swing.

 *

 *

 *

Honorable Mention

Morning News
by Buffy Silverman

*

*

A chickadee chirps from a high leafy perch,

deep in the shade of a bountiful birch.

He sounds an alarm: Chick-a-dee-dee-dee-deeee! 

Cat’s on patrol!  She skulks in the hedge!

Freeze where you are!  Be alert! Stay on edge!

Chick-a-dee-dee-dee!  Chick-a-dee-dee-dee-deeee!

 

Chipmunk’s alert to the chirps of alarm.

She chips out a warning, then sprints from the harm:

down through a burrow, her chips disappear

away from the danger, far from the fear.

She stays in her chamber, awaiting all clear.

Chick-a-dee-dee-dee!  Chick-a-dee-dee-dee!

 

A chickadee spies from his high leafy perch,

deep in the shade of a bountiful birch.

He calls an all-clear: chick-a-dee-dee.

Danger has passed.  You don’t need to freeze.

Fly to the feeder. Flit through the trees.

Chick-a-dee-dee!  Chick-a-dee-dee!

*

*

*

Honorable Mention

RECIPE FOR HUMOR
by Janie Reinart

*

*

Crack a joke.
Steep the laughter.
Baste a smile.
Taste it after.
Grill the gag.
Hear it giggle.
Shake it quick,
just a jiggle.
Squeeze the jest.
Make it titter.
Jazz it up.
Sprinkle glitter.
Pinch the pun.
Knead the clowning.
Just like that,
no more frowning.

*

*

*

Honorable Mention

Please Don’t Make Me Eat Those Peas
by Lynn Alpert

*

*

Please don’t make me eat those peas –
they stink and make me gag and wheeze.
I have a strong aversion to
those squishy globes of greenish goo!

I try to feed them to our puppy,
the hamster, and the family guppy.
They try a pea and spit it out –
they hate them, too, without a doubt!

I wish you would respect my wishes–
I promise I will do the dishes
if you don’t force me to consume
that evil, little green legume!

I’ll clean my room and make my bed
and make sure that the pets are fed.
If you love me, I’m beggin’ please,
Please don’t make me eat those peas!

*

*

 A Heartfelt Congratulations To You All!

Your poems are fabulous and you should be very proud of a job well done!

*

I welcome everyone who entered the contest to post your poems in the Pearls of Poetry tab above!

Please share them with us…Mention that your poem was entered in the contest!

All the poems were wonderful and I appreciate your participation! Keep rhyming!

*

See You Next Year!

 

34 thoughts on “RhyPiBoMo Daily Winners and…….The Golden Quill Poetry Contest Winners!!!

  1. Thank you, thank you! I am so happy to have won an honorable mention–thank you, judges, and thank you, Angie, for the opportunity!
    I thank Lewis Carroll, too, for the inspiration.

  2. Congratulations everyone on entering. Thank you to all the judges for doing a difficult job and thank you Angie for the wonderful opportunity. Well done to all the winners and honorable mentions. Happy rhyming everyone.

  3. It was fun to read the poems, and I hope we have the opportunity to read a few more here in the comments. Congratulations to all the winners, and thank you to Angie, the judges, the prize givers. I’m soooo looking forward to learning from Susanna Leonard Hill. Cheers!

  4. Congratulations, winners!!! I must ring out the loudest bell for a critique partner, Rebecca Colby. Yay, yay, Rebecca!!!.This has been a wonderful month of poetry. Thanks Angie. It’s hard to close this book for now, but time to write and incorporate some of the lessons learned.

  5. Wow, what a great group of poems! I’m happy to have won an honorable mention! Thanks Angie and all the judges. What a fun month this has been!

  6. Hip, hip, hooray for all of the Poetry Contest Prize Winners! I am a winner, too, for participating with you, in the RhyPiBoMo. I am thankful to all that you have done, Angie to help me learn and grow. ~Suzy Leopold

  7. Congratulations to all the winners and those with honorable mention! Thank you Jill, Tiffany and Renee for assisting Angie, our fearless leader 🙂 This has been an incredible experience-thank you, Angie!

  8. Congratulations to all the winners! I am thankful for being a daily winner this week, it has been such a fun month. I hope to keep working at a steady pace this month as well.

  9. Honored to be honorably mentioned! Thanks so much to Angie and the judges. Congrats to all the winners and all my fellow RhyPiBoMo-ers!

  10. Hip hip hooray to all of the winners! And congrats to all of the participants…putting our work out there is an important step. 🙂
    And a BIG hip hip hooray and congrats to Angie for an incredible month. 🙂

  11. Congrats to all these fabulous rhyming writers! Huge thank you to Angie for an action-packed month. I know it was a ton of work and time. Great, great stuff!

  12. Dear Angie- Thank you! I am excited to be the Wed winner 😉 You are so kind to be donating these books. I really wanted to tell you how amazed I have been this month at RhyPiBo!!! YOU ARE AMAZING and INSPIRATIONAL! The time you must have invested in all that you provided us in the in-depth blogs is truly not fathomable, but very much appreciated!

    This month really was an eye-opener and a new voice finder! I am excited to start my journey and explore my dream…thanks for being instrumental on the journey!

    All the best, Aimee

  13. Thank you, Angie! It’s fun to get an honorable mention, and I have enjoyed reading all the poems here. It has been an exciting month of poetry.

Leave a comment